in ,

University Football League: Uganda Martyrs deny St Lawrence on second try

Uganda Martyrs University defeated St Lawrence 1-0 in the finals played at MTN Omondi Stadium in Lugogo to claim their second University Football League tittle.

Kaija Sanny scored the only goal of the day which gifted UMU victory and crowned Champions of the 10th edition of the University Football League.

UMU won their first UFL tittle in 2017 when they defeated MUBS 2-0 at Namboole.

The Nkozi based side dominated the game from the start and in the 28th minute, Sanny tapped in from close range off a well taken corner by Kayondo Joseph for a deserved lead.

SLAU squandered their chance of winning on the second try as they lost the second consecutive final, they lost to UCU in 2019.

St Lawrence created a couple of chances as they could level the scores but it looked to be a bad day for striker Bruno Bunyaga as all his efforts could beat the outstanding goalkeeper Okoboi Sadam.

UMU defended better as a team and in the end they were crowned Champions as St Lawrence settled for the runners up place.

In the third place play off, Uganda Christian University rallied from down to shoot out MUBS in the penalties.

UCU came from down to draw 2-2 with MUBS and send the game into penalties where the Mukono based side won 4-2 and settled for bronze medals.

University Football League
Uganda Martyrs University 1-0 St Lawrence

Third place play off
UCU 2-2 MUBS (UCU won on penalties 4-2)

Written by Staff

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *