AfricaEditor's PicksMusic

DJ Khaled to host the MTV Africa Music Awards Kampala

DJ Khaled

Renown Award winning DJ and producer DJ Khaled will host the MTV Africa Music Awards that will be held at the Pearl of Africa Hotel in Kampala, Uganda for the very first time ever.

The Grammy-Award winning producer will host the awards ceremony virtually from his Miami home in the United States of America along side co-emcees from different African countries for the event.

The show that will have it’s base venue at the Pearl of Africa Hotel in Kampala will be aired live globally in over 180 countries for the very first time.

DJ Khaled is also a nominee in the best International Act category where he is nominated with other international artists including The Weekend, Da Baby, Megan Thee Stallion, drake and Beyonce.

The MAMA Kampala 2021 event will celebrate African talent across 20 award categories.

Voting for the different nominees in the different categories is open at the MTVmama.com website as well as affiliated Twitter, Facebook and Instagram accounts and will close on January 31st, 2021.

While reacting to the announcement that he will host the prestigious African Awards, DJ Khaled said, “MTV has always been a great partner so I jumped at the opportunity to host this year’s MAMAs. I can’t wait to celebrate the incredible music that comes out of Africa, which has inspired me throughout my career.”

The show is set to air on Feb. 20 at 8 p.m. CAT (Central Africa Time)/ 6 p.m. GMT (Greenwich Mean Time)/1 p.m. ET.

Leave a Response

Arnold Nkalubo
Arnold Nkalubo is a writer and editor with an exceptional interest in issues that influence passion and lifestyle.